Uncategorized

Unconditional Love 

In the Sixth Chapter of the Bible Book of Job, Mr. Job has just listened to his friend, Mr. Eliphaz, rebuke him for what appears to be sin, wrong-doing or foolishness. However, Job responds by saying, “My friend, right now I don’t need your rebuke or correction. Don’t try to reason with me with your mind. Right now I need you to show compassion and try to understand me.” 

Read Job 6:8-15 yourself. 

“Oh that I might have my request, that God would grant me one thing I long for. That it would please God to crush me. That He would loose His hand and cut me off. To him who is afflicted, kindness should be shown by his friend. Even though he forsakes the fear of The Almighty.”

Job was in such a depressed state of emotions he wanted to die. He didn’t need someone to try to connect with him “mind-to-mind” but “emotion-to-emotion.” 

When someone is under the influence of a strong emotion such as anger, grief or fear we cannot connect with them by reason. We must seek to understand and listen first. 

This is not to say there is not a place for reasoning, correction and instruction… there is. But Reason never wins over emotion. Emotion is soothed and redirected by emotion. 

So when it comes to trying to connect with people, remember – there is a time to connect by reason, correction and instruction and there is a time to connect by emotion. 

Let’s show unconditional love, even to those who are in the wrong… just as This Lord dies to us. 

Standard

Leave a Reply

