Leadership, Missions, Personal Development

The Need to Focus and Not Be Scattered

focus

Life is short.  Believe me, as I’m going into my 60s I think about it a lot.  Regardless of what others may tell you or what you hear or read, you only have one chance in this life.  You will not be born again in another life or something like that to try it again!  This is it!  I’m very grateful for all the Lord has allowed me to experience and live through but at this point in my life I’m saying no to more things than I ever had before to focus on a few things.

I’ve believed for many, many years that the Creator God of the Universe has a plan and purpose for each person who is born – whether they are a Christian at this time or not, through a relationship with Jesus Christ.  The God of the universe has a book in Heaven with your name in it and His plan written out for you during your life on earth.

Psalm 139:13-17

For you created my inmost being;
    you knit me together in my mother’s womb.
14 I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made;
    your works are wonderful,
    I know that full well.
15 My frame was not hidden from you
    when I was made in the secret place,
    when I was woven together in the depths of the earth.
16 Your eyes saw my unformed body;
    all the days ordained for me were written in your book
    before one of them came to be.
17 How precious to me are your thoughts, God!
    How vast is the sum of them!

Our time in this life is spent seeking out and being the kind of person  God created us to be and doing the work He’s called us to do.  That requires two things on our part:  Focus and Living by Priorities.

Focus.  Find what you’re good at.  Find what is hidden in your heart to do and develop your knowledge and skills in that area.  Don’t be so scattered that you’re never good at anything.  We have to sometimes try one thing and then another until we find what it seems that God has given us to do.  We go through seasons of life where we are prepared or tested or must wait, but I urge you to focus on a few good things that might turn  into one good thing that will make a difference in this world.

Tony Robbins, author, businessman and lecturer says: You need to focus on what you want in your 20s to be successful in your 30s.

Steve Jobs, inventor and co-founder of Apple, says:  People think focus means saying yes to the thing you have to focus on, but that’s not what it means at all.  It means saying no to the hundred other good ideas that there are.  You have to pick carefully!

I urge you to think carefully about how you spend every day, every hour and every minute.  Find what it seems God has called you to do.  That which you’re probably somewhat successful at, and say no to everything else and focus!

 

 

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

