Personal Development

Understanding the Sovereignty of God, 3

Tiny FrogImplications of the Sovereignty of God

I’ve attempted to make clear the fact that God is not haphazardly ordering the events of the universe, nor is he frantically attempting to hold his plan together and overcome the schemes of the devil.  God is in control of all events and will intervene as he wills to work out his will and purpose.  As a result of these truths, it ought to affect the Christian in the following ways:

  1. I can accept circumstances, however difficult they may be to understand, as ultimately from the hand of God.
“But Joseph said to them, “Don’t be afraid. Am I in the place of God?  You intended to harm me, but God intended it for good to accomplish what is now being done, the saving of many lives.”   Genesis 50:19-20
  1. I can rest in the fact that God is in control and he will be praised by the wrath and evil intentions of man.
And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.”   Romans 8:28
  1. I have no need to fear, for God knows all about me – my needs, fears, hopes, and hurts.
“But now, this is what the LORD says – he who created you, O Jacob, he who formed you, O Israel: “Fear not, for I have redeemed you; I have summoned you by name; you are mine.  When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; and when you pass through the rivers, they will not sweep over you. When you walk through the fire, you will not be burned; the flames will not set you ablaze.  For I am the LORD, your God, the Holy One of Israel, your Savior; I give Egypt for your ransom, Cush and Seba in your stead.  Since you are precious and honored in my sight, and because I love you, I will give men in exchange for you, and people in exchange for your life.  Do not be afraid, for I am with you; I will bring your children from the east and gather you from the west.  I will say to the north, ‘Give them up!’ and to the south, ‘Do not hold them back.’ Bring my sons from afar and my daughters from the ends of the earth – everyone who is called by my name, whom I created for my glory, whom I formed and made.”    Isaiah 43:1-7
  1. I have no need to worry for God is in control of all the events in the universe, the world, and my life.
“Be silent before me, you islands! Let the nations renew their strength! Let them come forward and speak; let us meet together at the place of judgment.  “Who has stirred up one from the east, calling him in righteousness to his service? He hands nations over to him and subdues kings before him. He turns them to dust with his sword, to windblown chaff with his bow.  He pursues them and moves on unscathed, by a path his feet have not traveled before.  Who has done this and carried it through, calling forth the generations from the beginning? I, the LORD – with the first of them and with the last – I am he.”       Isaiah 41:1-4
  1. God will grant me whatever grace is necessary to cooperate with his plan for my life.
“To keep me from becoming conceited because of these surpassingly great revelations, there was given me a thorn in my flesh, a messenger of Satan, to torment me.  Three times I pleaded with the Lord to take it away from me.  But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.  That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.”   2 Corinthians 12:1-10

Conclusion

If we do not believe in the sovereignty of God as it is declared in the Bible, then we and everything else are in the hands of blindly operating causes or an evil being intent on destroying everything.  Sovereignty teaches that an infinitely wise and powerful God is everywhere present and is controlling all events, great and small, in a way which is perfectly consistent with the nature of his creatures and is causing all things to serve and accomplish his will.  Praise God for his might, power, and excellence!

Standard

Leave a Reply

